LibGuides: ACCUPLACER: OER for English/Writing

OER for English/Writing

1, 2, 3 Write! A textbook for "Introduction to College Writing"
This text provides step-by-step instruction to build college writing skills. It combines comprehensive grammar and mechanics review with sentence, paragraph and essay writing techniques and practice. Links to example essays from professional and student writers demonstrate the skills studied and provide reading and critical thinking opportunities. Created and used at Mt. Hood Community College in Gresham, Oregon.
Provider: MHCC Library OER Press
Author: Gay Monteverde
License: Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike
About Writing: A Guide
This writer’s reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student needs to successfully compose college-level work, including the basics of composition, grammar, and research. It is broken down into easy-to-tackle sections, while not overloading students with more information than they need. Great for any beginning writing students or as reference for advanced students!
Developmental Writing - Lumen Learning
Introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing.
EmpoWord: A Student-Centered Anthology & Handbook for College Writers
This text is a reader and rhetoric that champions the possibilities of student writing. The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors: other students. Through both creative and traditional activities, readers are encouraged to explore a variety of rhetorical situations to become more critical agents of reading, writing, speaking, and listening in all facets of their lives. Straightforward and readable instruction sections introduce key vocabulary, concepts, and strategies.
Frameworks for Academic Writing
This text is designed for a wide range of writing abilities, from beginning to expert academic writers. ESL, ADL, LD, ADHD, and other writers who are simply unfamiliar with academic writing patterns benefit from sentence-by-sentence templates, prompts, tutorials, and examples. More confident writers may simply use the checklists provided. Presents a different way of teaching writing to students. The method is “writing with the teacher present” or simply students doing ALL their writing in class. This way of teaching writing is more like athletic practice than class. Students practice writing while the coach (professor or instructor) is around to break steps down into smaller and smaller elements and to help them learn the skills “in real time."
Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College Writer
This text is designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors.
Teaching Commons -- English
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Browse Authors and Works by Discipline.
Writing Commons
This is a peer-reviewed, research-based, award-winning encyclopedia on writing -- publishing original articles related to writing pedagogy, theory, and research (see Contribute). Initially, WC aimed to help U.S. students and teachers in English Studies (e.g., rhetoric, composition, technical and professional communication, and creative writing) avoid purchasing expensive textbooks. Over time, after 12.7 million unique users consulted writing commons, their audience has evolved as an international group of teachers, students, and knowledge workers who compose in a variety of home, school and workplace contexts. Major topics include academic writing, collaboration, design, editing, genre, grammar, information literacy, mindset, organization, professional writing, research, revision, rhetoric, style, and the writing process.
Writing for Success
This text provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce learning.

PURDUE OWL -- THE PURDUE UNIVERSITY ONLINE WRITING LAB

Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and provides these resources as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

APA Formatting & Style Guide
MLA Formatting & Style Guide
Avoiding Plagiarism
Resume Guide

Supplemental OER Materials

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge. DPLA amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.

DPLA works with a national network of partners to:

Make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
Provide a library-controlled marketplace and platform for libraries to purchase, organize, and deliver ebooks and other e-content to their patrons.
Convene library leaders and practitioners to explore and advance technologies that serve, inform, and empower their communities.

Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Today the archive contains:

735 billion web pages
41 million books and texts
14.7 million audio recordings (including 240,000 live concerts)
8.4 million videos (including 2.4 million Television News programs)
4.4 million images
890,000 software programs

Anyone with a free account can upload media to the Internet Archive.

LibriVox -- Free Public Domain Audiobooks
OBJECTIVE: To make all books in the public domain available, narrated by real people and distributed for free, in audio format on the internet.

Librivox is a non-commercial, non-profit and ad-free project
Librivox donates its recordings to the public domain
Librivox is powered by volunteers
Librivox maintains a loose and open structure
Librivox welcomes all volunteers from across the globe, in all languages

TV411 -- Tune in to Learning

TV411's mission is to help adults gain the basic reading, writing, math, and science skills they need to achieve their educational, career, and personal goals. We create educationally sound and entertaining multimedia learning materials and distribute them through television, the Internet, and literacy and community-based programs across the country. TV411 is a project of
Education Development Center's Learning and Teaching Division.