Medical Assisting Technology (MAT) - Short Term Certificate (STC): Home

Location: Hamilton & Jasper Campuses

This short-term certificate program is designed to teach the skills and knowledge necessary to become a certified medical assistant and obtain employment in a variety of healthcare facilities and clinics. Medical Assisting is an expanding profession currently in high demand. Recent changes in the delivery of health care have placed an emphasis on ambulatory care. This multi-skilled health professional is trained in clerical and medical office procedures, phlebotomy, EKG, basic patient care techniques, and laboratory procedures.

Medical assistants perform routine administrative and clinical tasks to keep the offices and clinics of physicians, podiatrists, chiropractors, and optometrists running smoothly. They are involved in direct patient care and assist the physician or other health professionals during patient examination.

This guide will help you locate relevant materials for your research in the following Medical Assisting Technology courses:

Medical Assisting Technology (MAT) Outline for the Short Term Certificate (STC)
Medical Assisting Technology (MAT) - STC

Program: Medical Assisting Technology

Type:  Short Term Certificate

Item #                  Title                                                        Credits

ORI 107 - STUDENT SURVIVAL SKILLS (1 Credit)
This course is designed to provide students with information to improve their success as students in a college environment. Specific topics include stress management, time management, goal setting, improving listening and note taking skills, identification of optimum learning styles, reading skills, study skills, problem solving and decision making, test taking strategies, and financial management.

EMS 100 - CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION I (1 Credit) 
This course provides students with concepts as related to areas of basic life support to include coronary artery disease, prudent heart living, symptoms of heart attack, adult one-and-two rescuer CPR, first aid for choking, pediatric basic life support, airway adjuncts, EMS system entry access, automated external defibrillation (AED), and special situations for CPR. Upon course completion, students should be able to identify situations requiring action related to heart or breathing conditions and effectively implement appropriate management for each condition. Students successfully completing this course will receive appropriate documentation of course completion.

MAT 125 - LABORATORY PROCEDURES I FOR THE MEDICAL ASSISTANT (3 Credits)
This course provides instruction in basic lab techniques used by the medical assistant. Topics include lab safety, quality control, collecting and processing specimens, performing selective diagnostic tests, such as a CBC, screening and follow-up of test results and OSHA/CLIA regulations. Upon completion, students should be able to perform basic lab tests/skills based on course topics.

MAT 205 - CLINICAL SPECIALITIES FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANTS (4 Credits) 
This course will build upon previous knowledge and skills in the clinical practice setting with advanced topics which include, but are not limited to, assisting with specialty examinations, vital signs, client teaching, and components of medical records to include formats, types, and documentation. This course also includes management and response to medical office emergencies. Upon completion, students should be able to recognize and manage specific emergencies in the office setting and assist with specialty procedures.

MAT 215 - LABORATORY PROCEDURES II FOR THE MEDICAL ASSISTANT (3 Credits) 
This course instructs the student in the fundamental theory and lab application for the medical office. Microbiology urinalysis, blood chemistry, and venipuncture theory as well as venipuncture collection procedures are discussed and performed. Upon completion, students should be able to perform basic lab tests/skills on course topics.

MAT 239 - PHLEBOTOMY PRECEPTORSHIP (3 Credits) 
This course is designed to provide the opportunity to apply phlebotomy techniques in the physician's clinic and hospital setting. Emphasis is placed on training individuals to properly collect and handle blood specimens for laboratory testing and to interact with health care personnel, patients and the general public. Upon completion, students should be prepared for entry level phlebotomy and to sit for the Phlebotomy Technician Examination (ASCP).

PLUS THREE COURSES

(Choose one): Either MAT 100 or OAD 103

MAT 100 - INTRODUCTION TO MEDICAL DOCUMENT PRODUCTION (3 Credits) 
This course covers basic keyboarding skills using medical mustard and format. Emphasis is placed on correct techniques and development of speed and accuracy. Upon completion, the student should be able to key medical material at an acceptable speed and accuracy level.

OAD 103 - INTERMEDIATE KEYBOARDING (3 Credits) 
This course is designed to assist the student in increasing speed and accuracy using the touch method of keyboarding through classroom instruction and lab exercises. Emphasis is on the production of business documents such as memoranda, letters, reports, tables, and outlines from unarranged rough draft to acceptable format. Upon completion, the student should be able to demonstrate proficiency and an acceptable rate of speed and accuracy, as defined by the course syllabus, in the production of business documents.

(Prerequisites: OAD 101 - BEGINNING KEYBOARDING or test above 30 words per minute)

(Choose one): Either MAT 101 or OAD 211

MAT 101 - MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY (3 Credits) 
This course is designed for medical assistants, student nurses, and others in the medically related fields. The course will focus on the more common prefixes, roots, and suffixes used to construct medical terms with these word parts to determine the meanings of new or unfamiliar terms. The student will learn a system of word building which will enable them to interpret medical terms.

OAD 211 - MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY (3 Credits) 
This course is designed to familiarize the student with medical terminology. Emphasis is on the spelling, definition, pronunciation, and usage of medical terms. Upon completion, the student should be able to communicate effectively using medical terminology.

(Choose one): Either MAT 102 or BIO 201 

MAT 102 - MEDICAL ASSISTING THEORY I (3 Credits) 
A description of anatomical descriptors and the cell introduces the student to and serves as an overview of the body's systems. The structure and function of the nervous, sensory, integumentary, muscular skeletal, respirator, and cardiovascular systems are taught with the diseases related to these systems presented. Upon completion, students should be able to demonstrate a basic working knowledge of these body systems.

BIO 201 - HUMAN A & P I (4 Credits) 
Human Anatomy and Physiology I covers the structure and function of the human body. Included is an orientation of the human body, basic principles of chemistry, a study of cells and tissues, metabolism, joints, the integumentary, skeletal, muscular, and nervous systems, and the senses. Dissection, histological studies, and physiology are featured in the laboratory experience. Lab is required.

(Prerequisites: BIO 103 - PRINCIPLES OF BIOLOGY I)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

                              Total credits:                                                                                 24-25

BSCC's Libraries have a great collection of resources, including books in print and electronic format, and current articles in our databases.  We have also included here a list of excellent websites to help with your research.  All the BSCC librarians are ready to help!  Contact us by phone, send us an e-mail or stop by and see us in person!

• Under the "Books" tab, you will find physical reference and circulating materials.
• Under the "Articles" tab, you will find a selection of relevant databases to search for articles from journals, magazines and newspapers.
• Under the "Websites" tab, you will find a collection of reliable websites for your research.

  Bevill State Community College Libraries LibGuides are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.