Alabama Virtual Library (AVL): E-Book Resources - Free e-books on a variety of subjects available through the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)
Bloomsbury Open Access Collection - The titles in this ever-growing collection are free to view and download and cover subjects such as Anthropology, Film and Media Studies, Politics and International Relations, History, Education, Theology and Biblical Studies.
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Book Collection: Nonfiction provides informative abstracts and full text for more than 4,200 popular nonfiction books in the areas of Social Studies, Science, Careers, Health, Sports, Adventure, and Technology.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - Thousands of free e-Books, including fiction, nonfiction, literary classics, children's books, Spanish, French and other languages titles.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
The Free Library - Since 2003, The Free Library has offered free, full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, The Free Library has been expanded to include a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications covering Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government, Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences. This collection includes millions of articles dating back to 1984 as well as newly-published articles that are added to the site daily.
FreeTechBooks - This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet.
Google Books - Previews and full texts of books. Full-text books are books that are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.
IntechOpen - Open Access Books - The world's leading publisher of OA books built by scientists, for scientists. 5000+ peer-reviewed open access books. In life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Internet Archive - Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
National Academies Press - The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the publications of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. NAP publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine - The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
Open Access Books on JSTOR - More than 8,000 Open Access books from 100+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Open Book Publishers - Open access eBooks in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Open Library -- Internet Archive - The ultimate goal of the Open Library is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world. While large in scope and ambition, this goal is within our grasp. Achieving it will require the participation of librarians, authors, government officials and technologists.
Open Research Library - The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone. Libraries investing in the Open Research Library contribute to the development of a dedicated infrastructure for the global research community, while participating libraries have the opportunity to benefit from a set of exclusive services.
Open Textbook Library - Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering 1053 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
PDF Drive - PDF Drive is a free search engine which allows you to search, preview and download millions of PDF files into your devices.
Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg offers over 60,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books and free kindle books - download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Project MUSE - Open access e-books and journals. "Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide." A browsable A-Z list of all the books is available.
Smithsonian Digital Libraries - A network of twenty-one specialized research libraries makes up the Smithsonian Libraries and provides the Institution’s museums and research centers with resources and services that are as diverse and deep as the collections, exhibits, and scholarship they support. They truly span the range of scientific and cultural pursuits of humanity from aerospace, anthropology, and art history to business history and botany, cultural history, design, philately, zoology, and much, much more. (Materials will work on all e-readers.)
Emergency Care by 
EMT-Basic: Pearls of Wisdom by 
Digital Public Library of America
What is DPLA?
The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared
knowledge. DPLA does this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.
DPLA works with a national network of partners to:
The Internet Archive, (IA), a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
Internet Archive began in 1996, by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. Like newspapers, the content published on the web was ephemeral - but unlike newspapers, no one was saving it. Today IA has 28+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and works with 1,200+ library and other partners through their Archive-It program to identify important web pages.
As their web archive grew, so did their commitment to providing digital versions of other published works.
Today the Internet Archive contains:
Anyone with a free account can upload media to the Internet Archive. The Internet Archive works with thousands of partners globally to save copies of their work into special collections.
Because the Internet Archive is a library, they pay special attention to books. Not everyone has access to a public or academic library with a good collection, so to provide universal access, Internet Archive needs to provide digital versions of books. IA began a program to digitize books in 2005, and today they scan 4,400 books per day in 20 locations around the world. Books published in or prior to 1928 are available for download, and hundreds of thousands of modern books can be borrowed through their Open Library site. One of the Internet Archive's missions is to serve people who have difficulty interacting with physical books, so most of our digitized books are available to people with print disabilities (learn about access here).
Like the Internet, television is also an ephemeral medium. The Internet Archive began archiving television programs in late 2000, and their first public TV project was an archive of TV news surrounding the events of September 11, 2001. In 2009, they began to make selected U.S. television news broadcasts searchable by captions in their TV News Archive. This service allows researchers and the public to use television as a citable and sharable reference.
The Internet Archive serves millions of people each day and is one of the top 300 web sites in the world. A single copy of the Internet Archive library collection occupies 145+ Petabytes of server space (and they store at least 2 copies of everything). The Internet Archive is funded through donations, grants, and by providing web archiving and book digitization services for their partners. As with most libraries, they value the privacy of their patrons, so they avoid keeping the IP (Internet Protocol) addresses of their readers and offer our site in https (secure) protocol.
