LibGuides: Urban Forestry Technician: Internet Resources & Websites

INTERNET RESOURCES & WEBSITES FOR FORESTRY

Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
A collaboration among libraries and organizations that promotes access to authoritative agricultural information and data.
American Forests
Since their founding in 1875, American Forests has been the pathfinders for creating healthy forests from coast to coast. Their mission is to create healthy and resilient forests, from cities to large natural landscapes, that deliver essential benefits for climate, people, water and wildlife through forestry innovation, place-based partnerships to plant and restore forests, and movement building.
Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health at the University of Georgia
The mission of the Center for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health is to serve a lead role in development, consolidation and dissemination of information and programs focused on invasive species, forest health, natural resource and agricultural management through technology development, program implementation, training, applied research and public awareness at the state, regional, national and international level.
EcoEarth.Info
Environment search engine, with associated links, newsfeeds and blogs.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth, a new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Forest History Society (FHS)
The Forest History Society (FHS) is a nonprofit educational institution that links the past to the future by identifying, collecting, preserving, interpreting, and disseminating information on the history of interactions between people, forests, and their related resources -- timber, water, soil, forage, fish and wildlife, recreation, and scenic or spiritual values. Through programs in research, publication, and education, the Society promotes and rewards scholarship in the fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history while reminding all of us about our important forest heritage.
Forestry USA
Forestry USA is a privately-funded "portal" - a collection of organized links - related to forestry and forest products in the United States. For career and job links, see their Career Center - Job opportunities page has active postings. Networking has lists of associations, organizations, and other resource pages. Government has links to useful federal, state, and local government sites. Education and Research includes schools and research sites.
HippoCampus
HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.
International Society of Arboriculture (ISA)
Through research, technology, and education, the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) promotes the professional practice of arboriculture and fosters a greater worldwide awareness of the benefits of trees.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Our website covers math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Khan Academy has also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
National Forest Service Library
The National Forest Service Library provides access to electronic journals and bibliographic databases, current literature alerting, reference, and interlibrary loan services to support the needs of Forest Service employees.
The Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy is a global environmental nonprofit working to create a world where people and nature can thrive. Founded in the U.S. through grassroots action in 1951, The Nature Conservancy has grown to become one of the most effective and wide-reaching environmental organizations in the world. Thanks to more than a million members and the dedicated efforts of our diverse staff and over 400 scientists, we impact conservation in 76 countries and territories: 37 by direct conservation impact and 39 through partners.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Tool Library
A curated index of digital tools and apps for urban forestry
U.S. Department of Agriculture - Forest Service
Established in 1905, the Forest Service is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, bringing people and communities together to answer the call of conservation. The Forest Service manages public lands in national forests and grasslands. Grounded in world-class science and technology and rooted in communities–the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Forest Service connects people to nature and to each other. As a Federal agency in service to the American people, the Forest Service cares for shared natural resources in ways that promote lasting economic, ecological, and social vitality. In doing this, the agency supports nature in sustaining life.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Providing leadership, research, and statistics on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
Urban and Community Forestry (USDA)
By working with our state partners and community tree groups, the program invests from the ground up in communities, improving more than 140 million acres of urban and community forest across the United States.
Urban Forestry South - Published Library Resources
This virtual library holds a wide range of urban forestry resources including: research abstracts and full text journal articles, trade magazine articles, CDs, other technology transfer resources, books (or chapters of books), patents, ordinances, theses and dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Urban Forestry Toolkit
The U.S. Forest Service Step-by-Step Guide to Implementing Urban Forestry in Your Community.
Urban Natural Resources Institute (UNRI)
The Urban Natural Resources Institute (UNRI) is an initiative of the USDA Forest Service Northern Station, which serves as a point of contact for focused research, development, and information exchange on urban natural resource management. The Institute consists of Forest Service scientists who are conducting science-based research on urban natural resource issues throughout the region. The resources of the Institute are located in various units of the Northern Research Station, and include state, university, municipal and commercial partners focusing on scientific study of urbanized landscapes. The Institute works toward increasing the coordination, distribution and accessibility of science-based tools, products and initiatives within the Northeast.
USDA Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)
For nearly 50 years, APHIS has been protecting the health and value of America’s agricultural and natural resources. It’s a vital mission: Healthy and profitable American agriculture provides food and clothing for countless people worldwide and is a key pillar of our economy.
USDA Forests and Forestry
The United States Department of Agriculture's forestry site including statistics, research, publications, and other resources.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Originally established by Congress in 1935 as the Soil Conservation Service (SCS), NRCS has expanded to become a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved, restored, and more resilient to environmental challenges, like climate change.
Vibrant Cities Lab
The US Forest Service, American Forests and the National Association of Regional Councils created Vibrant Cities Lab to help city managers, policymakers and advocates build thriving urban forest programs.

RNGR - Reforestation, Nurseries & Genetics Resources

This web site, sponsored by the USDA Forest Service and the Southern Regional Extension Forestry, was developed by the technical specialists of the Reforestation, Nurseries and Genetic Resources (RNGR) program whose mission is to supply people who grow forest and conservation seedlings with the very latest technical information, and to provide links to other organizations and individuals with similar interests.

A searchable database of over 11,000 technical articles, many of which are available for download in PDF format.
Many of the listed publications and services are free and complimentary copies can be ordered by sending RNGR your mailing address.
The data is compiled and searchable by state.
You can create a custom report or generate the annual report for selected years.

RNGR strives to respond personally to any individual inquiries, but please be patient as time and resources are limited.

RNGR - Reforestation, Nurseries & Genetics Resources
Home page of the web site
RNGR - Nursery Manuals
RNGR - Publications
RNGR - Resources
RNGR - Seed Manuals

GRANTS & FUNDING SOURCES

Current Research Information System (USDA)
The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.
National Science Foundation (NSF)
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." NSF is vital because we support basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future. This type of support: Is a primary driver of the U.S. economy. Enhances the nation's security. Advances knowledge to sustain global leadership.

URBAN FORESTRY PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

Alabama Urban Forestry Association (AUFA)
Join AUFA and become a member of this dynamic association whose members care about trees and their proper care! The many membership benefits include: Invitations to networking forums. Access to continuing education opportunities and professional development programs. CEU’s for International Society of Arborists and many other related organizations. Discounts for AUFA seminars, workshops and the annual convention. Notice of tree grant opportunities available through federal government, corporations and private foundations. Valuable information on the latest technology, industry updates via our website and email bulletins. Technical information via referrals to certified arborists and other qualified professionals. Receive our quarterly newsletter PLANTINGS.
Society of Municipal Arborists (SMA)
Founded in 1964, the SMA is an organization of municipal arborists and urban foresters. Our membership also includes consultants, commercial firms, nonprofits, tree boards, tree wardens, allied professionals, and citizens who actively practice or support some facet of municipal forestry. The Society of Municipal Arborists builds the confidence, competence and camaraderie of professionals who manage trees and forests to create and sustain more livable communities.
Society of American Foresters
The mission of the Society of American Foresters is to advance sustainable management of forest resources through science, education, and technology, promoting professional excellence while ensuring the continued health, integrity, and use of forests to benefit society in perpetuity.