Welding Technology: Books & E-Books

There are a multitude of books available through your Campus Library -- here are examples...

• Alabama Virtual Library (AVL): E-Book Resources - Free e-books on a variety of subjects available through the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)

• Bloomsbury Open Access Collection - The titles in this ever-growing collection are free to view and download and cover subjects such as Anthropology, Film and Media Studies, Politics and International Relations, History, Education, Theology and Biblical Studies.

• Book Collection: Nonfiction - Book Collection: Nonfiction provides informative abstracts and full text for more than 4,200 popular nonfiction books in the areas of Social Studies, Science, Careers, Health, Sports, Adventure, and Technology.

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - Thousands of free e-Books, including fiction, nonfiction, literary classics, children's books, Spanish, French and other languages titles.

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
   
• EPDF - Non-Fiction & Fiction eBooks - All Genres - No account is required to be able to download the ebooks as PDFs from this site. If you cannot find a book from the library ebook collection, check this site; it provides books in theology and biblical studies too.
   
• Free-Ebooks.net - Fiction, Non-Fiction, Textbooks, Classics, Fiction Audiobooks, Non-Fiction Audiobooks, Children's Audiobooks, etc., all available for free.
   

• The Free Library - Since 2003, The Free Library has offered free, full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, The Free Library has been expanded to include a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications covering Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government, Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences. This collection includes millions of articles dating back to 1984 as well as newly-published articles that are added to the site daily.

• FreeTechBooks - This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet.

• Google Books - Previews and full texts of books. Full-text books are books that are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.

• HippoCampus - HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.
   

• IntechOpen - Open Access Books - The world's leading publisher of OA books built by scientists, for scientists. 5000+ peer-reviewed open access books. In life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

• Internet Archive - Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

• Khan Academy - Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Our website covers math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Khan Academy has also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
   

• National Academies Press - The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the publications of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. NAP publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

• The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine - The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

• Open Access Books on JSTOR - More than 8,000 Open Access books from 100+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

• Open Book Publishers - Open access eBooks in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

• Open Library -- Internet Archive - The ultimate goal of the Open Library is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world. While large in scope and ambition, this goal is within our grasp. Achieving it will require the participation of librarians, authors, government officials and technologists.

• Open Research Library - The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone. Libraries investing in the Open Research Library contribute to the development of a dedicated infrastructure for the global research community, while participating libraries have the opportunity to benefit from a set of exclusive services.

• OpenStax - OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. Our mission is to improve educational access and learning for everyone. We do this by publishing openly licensed books, developing and improving research-based courseware, establishing partnerships with educational resource companies, and more.
   

• Open Textbook Library - Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering 1053 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.

• PDF Drive - PDF Drive is a free search engine which allows you to search, preview and download millions of PDF files into your devices.

• Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg offers over 60,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books and free kindle books - download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

• Project MUSE - Open access e-books and journals. "Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide." A browsable A-Z list of all the books is available.

• Smithsonian Digital Libraries - A network of twenty-one specialized research libraries makes up the Smithsonian Libraries and provides the Institution’s museums and research centers with resources and services that are as diverse and deep as the collections, exhibits, and scholarship they support. They truly span the range of scientific and cultural pursuits of humanity from aerospace, anthropology, and art history to business history and botany, cultural history, design, philately, zoology, and much, much more. (Materials will work on all e-readers.)

• TED: Ideas Worth Spreading - TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and, ultimately, the world. On TED.com, we're building a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other, both online and at TED and TEDx events around the world, all year long. TED is owned by a nonprofit, nonpartisan foundation. Our agenda is to make great ideas accessible and spark conversation.
   
• Wikibooks - A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.