LibGuides: Nursing: Articles & Databases

OPEN ACCESS HEALTH SCIENCES DATABASES

AllNurses
AllNurses is a Career Support Site for nurses and students. Our members, staff, and writers represent more than 60 professional nursing specialties. They come from all over the world to share, learn, and network. Our mission is to empower, unite, and advance every nurse, student, and educator.
ASPR TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Information Gateway
This page highlights resources ASPR TRACIE developed to address current and emerging infectious disease threats. While many ASPR TRACIE resources are relevant to planning for and responding to infectious disease emergencies, this page features those created specifically for that purpose. We would like to thank our Subject Matter Expert Cadre members who assist with the development and review of all of our resources.
CancerData
This repository of open access materials related to the study of cancer is run by the Medical Informatics and Knowledge Engineering team of Maastro Clinic in Maastricht, a city in the Netherlands. The research provided includes clinical protocols, publications, and datasets.
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The access point for annual reports on trends in health statistics.
Center of Disease Control Library (Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library)
The Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library's mission is to advance science, public health, and safety through information while providing the scientific foundation for CDC’s mission through offering specialized library services supporting research, information exchange and learning. The library provides a full range of information services and products in support of public health research, policy and action. Through the headquarters library in Atlanta and its four branches, CDC Library serves CDC employees across the nation as well as those located internationally.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
HardinMD
Hardin MD was first launched in 1996, as a source to find the best lists, or directories, of information in health and medicine. Hence, the name Hardin MD comes from Hardin Meta Directory, since the site was conceived as a "directory of directories." The Hardin part of our name is from Robert Hardin, a physician at University of Iowa, after whom the library was named.
HealthCentral
HealthCentral combines medically-vetted health information with personal stories and advice from patients.
Health InfoNet of Alabama
A service of the Alabama Health Libraries Association, the Alabama Public Library Service, the State Health Planning and Development Agency, and the National Library of Medicine.
HubMed
HubMed is a database of medical journals and articles. The site is simple and straightforward, and it allows you to filter your results to free full texts only.
Innerbody
InnerBody website will help you explore the incredible anatomy and physiology of the human body, as well as related subjects like diseases, proper nutrition and the many careers revolving around all of these subjects.
MedicineNet
MedicineNet, owned and operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD Network, is an online, healthcare media publishing company providing easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via its robust, user-friendly, interactive website. Founded in 1996, MedicineNet.com has had a highly accomplished, uniquely experienced team of qualified executives in the fields of medicine, healthcare, Internet technology, and business to provide the most comprehensive, sought-after healthcare information anywhere.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it presents information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Utilize MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
The NINR is dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training. Our mission is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations.
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,500-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
PubMed Central (PMC) - Archive of Biomedical and Life Science Journals
PubMed Central includes free full text articles available through the National Library of Medicine. Unlike PubMed, the articles in PubMed Central do not use indexing based on subject headings. This can make searching more challenging, because you must come up with your own keywords to find articles relevant to your topic.
PubMed Homepage
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
World Health Organization (WHO) Library Catalog
The WHO Library is the world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world. WHO Library resources and expertise also provide scientific evidence and knowledge to low- and middle- income countries through a set of low-cost/high-use initiatives. Includes online databases: IRIS, GIFT, HINARI, PubMed, Global Health Library, AFRO (AIM), EMRO (IMEMR), PAHO (LILACS), SEARO (IMSEAR), WIPRO (WPRIM).

ALABAMA VIRTUAL LIBRARY (AVL) HEALTH SCIENCES DATABASES

The Alabama Virtual Library, a collection of databases, provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. As it is primarily a group of online databases, it makes available magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities across the state.

Check out the following health sciences databases on the AVL:

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) is a full-text alternative health research database that is focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Content includes 40 active full-text non-open access international and peer-reviewed journals with topics such as Acupuncture, Aromatherapy, Childbirth, Chiropractic, Herbalism, Nutrition and more
Biomedicine & Life Sciences eBooks (Springer Nature) provides access to up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world. Covering topics such as patterns of infectious transmissions, processes that are responsible for loss of biodiversity, and more. These eBooks are a permanent purchase to help support Affordable Learning in Alabama.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) provides access to health reference books, evidence-based health reports, full-text journals, and magazines. Content includes: 500 medical images and diagrams, and over 240 animations with audio narration and transcripts, Consumer health pamphlets and leaflets from the CDC, FDA, NIH and others, Drug information in English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
Consumer Health Complete via EBSCOhost (EBSCO) is an online research platform providing access to EBSCO databases and search features utilized by researchers. Through EBSCOhost, users can search databases and refine search results, access text-to-speech for HTML articles, ARIA landmarks, and more.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO) is a complimentary reference eBook collection for Consumer Health Complete.
Gale OneFile: Science (Gale) provides access to information on the latest scientific developments across a range of science disciplines. Content includes over 1 million articles, and over 350 full-text journals with subjects covered such as Computing, Biological Sciences, Engineering, and more.
Health InfoNet of Alabama provides Alabama residents with access to high-quality consumer health information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) is a collection of consumer health information that provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. Content includes over 20 active full-text non-open access magazines, and over 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports plus 13 full-text reference books, and full text for current health pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) is a full-text database that covers nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and more. Content includes: 140 active full-text non-open access journals, 120 peer-reviewed, active full-text non-open access journals, 930 indexed and abstracted journals
Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 (OVID/Wolters Kluwer) provides access to medically accurate male and female 3D gross anatomy models. Content includes: 3D models that can be studied from any angle and various zoom levels, MRI & CT scans, augmented reality, dissection tool, and more, 7 Languages supported (Deutsch, English, Espanol, Francais, Italiano, Japanese, Simplified Chinese)
Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 mobile app (OVID/Wolters Kluwer) allows users to access the features of Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 on their mobile device. Content includes: Augmented reality feature, Interact with structures in 3D, Simulate a dissection lab experience, 3D models of the nervous system, skeletal system, circulatory system, muscular system, and more, Available for iOS and Android
MedlinePlus (U. S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health) provides access to trusted health and wellness information for free. Content includes information on the latest medical treatments, research information on drug supplements, the A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia, and medical illustrations and videos.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) provides access to citations on online books and life science journals, as well as biomedical literature from MEDLINE.

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
A training course on how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed (is available through AVL).

ScienceDirect.com

ScienceDirect.com
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.

Also, access to the journal -- Clinical Simulation in Nursing is available through this resource

ScienceDirect Account Creation Information

OPEN ACCESS ONLINE HEALTH SCIENCES JOURNALS

Bioline International
Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's goal of reducing the South to North knowledge gap is crucial to a global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development. By providing a platform for the distribution of peer-reviewed journals (currently from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela), BI helps to reduce the global knowledge divide by making bioscience information generated in these countries available to the international research community world-wide.
BioMed Central (BMC)
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, in the fields of biology, clinical medicine, and health, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 BMC made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, BMC changed the world of academic publishing.
BMJ (British Medical Journal)
The BMJ (British Medical Journal) is an international peer reviewed medical journal and a fully “online first” publication. Our publishing model—”continuous publication”— means that all articles appear on bmj.com before being included in an issue of the print journal. The website is updated daily with the BMJ’s latest original research, education, news, and comment articles, as well as podcasts, videos, and blogs.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of Open Access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all Open Access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Hyperscience International Journal (HIJ)
Hyperscience International Journal (HIJ) is a global Open Access Journal that releases original research articles quarterly across various domains including Physics, Mathematics, Geophysics, Computer Sciences, Biology, General Science, and Philosophy. The aim of HIJ is to publish original and high-quality research papers.
Journal of Health Sciences
The Journal of Health Sciences is an international, open access, peer-reviewed, and evidence-based scientific journal published by the University of Sarajevo, Faculty of Health Studies. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in nursing and a range of disciplines and specialties of allied health professions.
Open Access Medical Journals
Open Access Medical Journals publish contemporary medical research findings pertaining to the process of research and development of newer and better diagnostic and therapeutic methods. The open access mode of publication provides these articles with a wider platform and a larger audience. Medical journals cover a broad spectrum of topics that encompass the technical intricacies of clinical treatment practices as well as the research studies that prioritize the development of cutting edge tools and techniques for clinical application. Some of the most streamlined topics that are included in open access medical journals include anaplastology, cardiology, Surgery, autocoids, dentistry, gastroenterology, etc. Open access medical journals serve to segment the present day understanding of protocols and mechanisms applied in conventional medical treatment practices.
PLoS Biology (Public Library of Science)
Open Access full text peer-reviewed journal from the Public Library of Science.
Sage Journals - Health
Health: is an interdisciplinary journal that engages with and interrogates health and healthcare from the perspectives of the social sciences and the humanities. Focusing on critique of norms and power relationships, the journal provides an international forum for articles reporting on original research, theoretical pieces and review essays from around the world. It offers the breadth of outlook required by sociologists, social psychologists, social and cultural theorists and others who are addressing healthcare issues that cross disciplinary boundaries.
Wiley Online Library -- Health Science Reports
Health Science Reports is an international, open access journal that publishes research and commentaries from across all medical and health sciences disciplines . The journal welcomes clinical studies, as well as reports on methods and research design, health services, public health, and medical education and practice.