Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) : Articles & Databases

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations. With these and other online features, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information in a way that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.

AllNurses is a Career Support Site for nurses and students. Our members, staff, and writers represent more than 60 professional nursing specialties. They come from all over the world to share, learn, and network. Our mission is to empower, unite, and advance every nurse, student, and educator.

This page highlights resources ASPR TRACIE developed to address current and emerging infectious disease threats. While many ASPR TRACIE resources are relevant to planning for and responding to infectious disease emergencies, this page features those created specifically for that purpose. We would like to thank our Subject Matter Expert Cadre members who assist with the development and review of all of our resources.

This repository of open access materials related to the study of cancer is run by the Medical Informatics and Knowledge Engineering team of Maastro Clinic in Maastricht, a city in the Netherlands. The research provided includes clinical protocols, publications, and datasets.

The access point for annual reports on trends in health statistics.

The Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library's mission is to advance science, public health, and safety through information while providing the scientific foundation for CDC’s mission through offering specialized library services supporting research, information exchange and learning. The library provides a full range of information services and products in support of public health research, policy and action. Through the headquarters library in Atlanta and its four branches, CDC Library serves CDC employees across the nation as well as those located internationally.

This is an incredibly specific resource, but it’s useful nonetheless. The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database contains 6,800 records related to human health in the circumpolar region (i.e., the area around one of Earth’s poles). Some journals and articles require an access fee.

The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.

Hardin MD was first launched in 1996, as a source to find the best lists, or directories, of information in health and medicine. Hence, the name Hardin MD comes from Hardin Meta Directory, since the site was conceived as a "directory of directories." The Hardin part of our name is from Robert Hardin, a physician at University of Iowa, after whom the library was named.

HealthCentral combines medically-vetted health information with personal stories and advice from patients.

A service of the Alabama Health Libraries Association, the Alabama Public Library Service, the State Health Planning and Development Agency, and the National Library of Medicine.

HubMed is a database of medical journals and articles. The site is simple and straightforward, and it allows you to filter your results to free full texts only.

InnerBody website will help you explore the incredible anatomy and physiology of the human body, as well as related subjects like diseases, proper nutrition and the many careers revolving around all of these subjects.

The International Aging Research Portfolio (IARP) is a system that organizes and allows users to browse research related to aging. It “incorporates databases of grants from multiple sources,” as well as MEDLINE publication abstracts.

MedicineNet, owned and operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD Network, is an online, healthcare media publishing company providing easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via its robust, user-friendly, interactive website. Founded in 1996, MedicineNet.com has had a highly accomplished, uniquely experienced team of qualified executives in the fields of medicine, healthcare, Internet technology, and business to provide the most comprehensive, sought-after healthcare information anywhere.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it presents information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Utilize MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

The NINR is dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training. Our mission is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,500-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.

PubMed Central includes free full text articles available through the National Library of Medicine. Unlike PubMed, the articles in PubMed Central do not use indexing based on subject headings. This can make searching more challenging, because you must come up with your own keywords to find articles relevant to your topic.

PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

The most complete and easy-to-use 3D human body reference and study tool. the 3D models can be studied from any angle and varying zoom levels. On-screen controls for zooming, panning, rotating, and dissecting 3D models of all major organs and systems of the male and female body.

The WHO Library is the world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world. WHO Library resources and expertise also provide scientific evidence and knowledge to low- and middle- income countries through a set of low-cost/high-use initiatives. Includes online databases: IRIS, GIFT, HINARI, PubMed, Global Health Library, AFRO (AIM), EMRO (IMEMR), PAHO (LILACS), SEARO (IMSEAR), WIPRO (WPRIM).

Provides reliable information for certified nursing assistants and for those interested in a career as a certified nursing assistant.

The BMJ (British Medical Journal) is an international peer-reviewed medical journal and a fully “online first” publication. Our publishing model—”continuous publication”— means that all articles appear on bmj.com before being included in an issue of the print journal. The website is updated daily with the BMJ’s latest original research, education, news, and comment articles, as well as podcasts, videos, and blogs.

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of Open Access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all Open Access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

The HyperSciences Journals provide online Open Access peer-reviewed journals covering all major areas of science.

Open Access full text peer-reviewed journal from the Public Library of Science.