LibGuides: Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) : Internet Resources & Websites

WEBSITES FOR NURSING ASSISTANT/CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANT (CNA)

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
American Diabetes Association (ADA)
The ADA leads the fight against the deadly consequences of diabetes and fights for those affected by diabetes; funds research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes; delivers services to hundreds of communities; and provides objective and credible information. The ADA gives voice to those individuals denied their rights because of diabetes.
American Heart Association (AHA/ASA)
The American Heart Association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke.
The Campaign for Nursing/Discover Nursing
This website is an online extension of Johnson & Johnson's Campaign for Nursing. It’s where nursing organizations, schools, hospitals and other healthcare groups share information and resources to help provide opportunities for students and nurses alike.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same. CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
Health Finder
Health Finder is a government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to everyone who needs healing. This website contains high quality and comprehensive medical information.
Medscape
Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.
National Association of Health Care Assistants
The mission of the National Association of Health Care Assistants is to elevate the professional standing and performance of caregivers through recognition, advocacy, education and empowerment while building a strong alliance with health care providers to maximize success and quality patient care.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America’s Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]). The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health care professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
National Institute on Aging (NIH)
NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.
National Network of Career Nursing Assistants
Career Nurse Assistants’ Programs, Inc., is also known as the National Network of Career Nursing Assistants, a non-profit, tax-exempt, educational organization promoting recognition, education, research, advocacy and peer support development for nursing assistants in nursing homes and other long-term care settings.
Office of Minority Health
The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
US Department of Labor - Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.

DRUG RESOURCES

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drugs, Supplements and Herbal Information (MedlinePlus)
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Drugs.com
Drugs.com provides free, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Merck Manual - Professional Version
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Nursing Math Calculator
This website is a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math.
RX List
RX List is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Owned and Operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD network.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Essential Medicines and Health Products Information Portal
The WHO Essential Medicines and Health Products Information Portal supports efforts to improve access to essential medicines and health products by making related, full-text articles available online. The portal receives support from the US Agency for International Development (USAID)-funded Systems for Improved Access to Pharmaceutical Services (SIAPS) Program, implemented by Management Sciences for Health (MSH). The Portal contains 6335 medicines and health products related publications from WHO, other UN partners, global NGOs, development agencies and their partners, countries and academics, and is updated monthly. A powerful search engine ensures that documents can be identified easily.

PRIME - A Property of Everyday Health Group

PRIME - A Property of Everyday Health Group
PRIME® has a 29-year history of partnering with closed systems, health policy decision-makers, the DoD, Military and VA centers, the federal government, academia, residency programs, and integrated delivery systems, such as ACOs and PCMHs. PRIME® advances the science of learning and behavior change through their value-based network of providers, patients, payers, systems, and government/federal audiences.
Recommended Free CME and Other Educational Activities
Supporting Professions with a Variety of Topics Applicable for: Physicians, Physician Assistants, Nurse Practitioners, Pharmacists, Nurses, Optometric Practitioners, Genetic Counselors, Case Managers, Dentists, Psychologists, Social Workers

PRIME Case Studies -- Continuing Medical Education